Witney News - Icy conditions and West Oxon D.C. services

Witney - A view from Church Green

Advertisements

Icy conditions and West Oxon D.C. services

Waste and recycling collections in some areas of West Oxfordshire have been suspended due to icy road conditions. This is a particular problem in the higher areas of the District.

West Oxfordshire District Council hope that any outstanding collections will be completed today but this is dependent on the road conditions.

Please could residents whose waste has not been collected, leave their bins and recycling boxes out for collection until the end of today, Thursday 24 December.

Cllr David Harvey, Cabinet Member for the Environment said “We are trying our utmost to reach as many areas as possible but the weather is working against us - the temperature remains at freezing and the roads are very icy and dangerous. Collections have been suspended for the safety for our bin men, and residents and their property”.

If the bins cannot be collected today then the Council’s revised collection dates for the festive Bank Holiday will come into play. Information has been sent to every household in the district and details about the changes are also available on the Council’s website, www.westoxon.gov.uk/holidaycollections.

The changes are as follows:

Normal Collection --> Revised Collection
Friday 25 December --> Tuesday 29 December
Monday 28 December --> Wednesday 30 December
Tuesday 29 December --> Thursday 31 December
Wednesday 30 December --> Saturday 2 January
Thursday 31 December --> Monday 4 January
Friday 1 January --> Tuesday 5 January
Monday 4 January --> Wednesday 6 January
Tuesday 5 January --> Thursday 7 January
Wednesday 6 January --> Friday 8 January
Thursday 7 January --> Saturday 9 January
Friday 8 January --> Monday 11 January
Monday 11 January --> Tuesday 12 January
Tuesday 12 January --> Wednesday 13 January
Wednesday 13 January --> Thursday 14 January
Thursday 14 January --> Friday 15 January
Friday 15 January --> Saturday 16 January
Monday 18 January --> As normal

Cllr Harvey went on to encourage residents to take advantage of the plastic sacks for recycling over the festive period. “Sacks have been delivered to all homes in West Oxfordshire and can be used for one recyclable material only - either paper or cardboard or plastic or metal - but not glass.

“Residents in West Oxfordshire are keen recyclers and the sacks mean that people can keep up their good work and recycle as much as possible over Christmas, traditionally a time for excess waste.”

Extra sacks are also available from:
· The Council’s Town Centre Shops in Chipping Norton and Witney
· Council’s offices in Woodgreen and New Yatt Road, Witney
· Visitor Information Centres in Burford, Woodstock and Witney.
· Carterton Town Council

The bin men also have a stock available to residents on their vehicles.
In addition to the above excess waste can be taken to:

· Waste and recycling centres (council tips) in Dix Pit, Stanton Harcourt and Dean Pit, Chadlington. They are closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day
· Recycling banks are located throughout the district.

Further information, including any updates on waste and recycling collections, can be found online at www.westoxon.gov.uk

Posted : 24/12/2009 13:04:58

Other recent Witney news items


Council tackles homelessness with property purchase

West Oxfordshire District Council is planning to buy a property in a bid to avoid people being made homeless. The move is designed to address the need for emergency housing and help avoid resident...[more]


Ultrafast broadband heading for West Oxfordshire

More than 4,600 homes and businesses in West Oxfordshire will be connected to ultrafast full fibre broadband by the end of 2019 thanks to a major new contract worth more than £8m. The contract wil...[more]


Council on target for affordable housing

Affordable housing targets are being met in West Oxfordshire, new figures reveal. In the first quarter of 2017, a total of 24 new homes have been built by Sovereign Housing Association in the Dist...[more]


To view the full Witney Blog, click here