Witney News - Christmas waste and recycling information

Witney - A view from Church Green

Advertisements

Christmas waste and recycling information

Christmas waste and recycling information West Oxfordshire District Council would like to remind residents that waste and recycling collection dates will change over the festive period.

Collections will be carried out as normal on Christmas Eve, Wednesday, December 24th. Changes are as follows:

Normal collection date --> Revised collection date
Christmas Day, Thursday 25th December --> Monday 29th December
Boxing Day, Friday 26th December --> Tuesday 30th December
Monday 29th December --> Wednesday 31st December
Tuesday 30th December --> Friday 2nd January
New Year’s Eve, Wednesday 31st December --> Saturday 3rd January
New Year’s Day, Thursday 1st January --> Monday 5th January
Friday 2nd January --> Tuesday 6th January
Monday 5th January --> Wednesday 7th January
Tuesday 6th January --> Thursday 8th January
Wednesday 7th January --> Friday 9th January
Thursday 8th January --> Saturday 10th January
Friday 9th January --> Monday 12th January
Monday 12th January --> Tuesday 13th January
Tuesday 13th January --> Wednesday 14th January
Wednesday 14th January --> Thursday 15th January
Thursday 15th January --> Friday 16th January
Friday 16th January --> Saturday 17th January

Normal collections will resume on Monday 19th January. Details of the revised collection dates are available on the Council’s website, www.westoxon.gov.uk/holidaycollections or by calling 01993 861020.

The Council is encouraging people to reduce waste and recycle as much as possible this Christmas. Recycling sacks are being delivered to every household in the District for residents to use in addition to their black recycling boxes. Householders are asked to fill their sacks with one recyclable material only – paper or card, or plastic bottles or tins – and leave them out for collection at the same time as their recycling box during the fortnight after Christmas only.

Excess recycling can also be taken to any of the Council’s 21 recycling centres situated in car parks across the District. Call 01993 861020 or visit www.westoxon.gov.uk/recycle for more details. There are also Waste Recycling Centres at Dix Pit, Stanton Harcourt, and Dean Pit, Chadlington. For more information, visit www.oxfordshire.gov.uk

Posted : 15/12/2008 00:26:31

Other recent Witney news items


No longer want your garden waste bin?

West Oxfordshire residents who are yet to inform the District Council that they no longer want their garden waste bin, should get in touch now to arrange removal. The Council is currently collecti...[more]


Wheelie bins for recycling

From October wheelie bins will replace black boxes for most of our recycling, the only exception being glass which will still be collected separately in black boxes. During the summer you will rec...[more]


New council proposals focus on issues not restructuring

A document outlining counter-proposals to plans for the creation of a single unitary Oxfordshire council has been submitted to the new Government. It comes in response to the proposals for a unita...[more]


To view the full Witney Blog, click here