Witney News - Festive waste and recycling information

Witney - A view from Church Green

Advertisements

Festive waste and recycling information

As we head into the festive season, West Oxfordshire District Council is reminding residents to recycle as much as possible and look out for changes to bin collection dates.

It’s one of the most wasteful times of year and the Council is encouraging everyone to recycle all of their extra waste, from cards and wrapping paper, to turkey carcasses and other food leftovers, cooking oil and real Christmas trees.

Cllr David Harvey, the District Council’s Cabinet Member for Environment, said: “Christmas is a time of giving and with many people getting into the festive spirit it is easy to forget just how much waste is generated. Last December and January over 400 tonnes more rubbish was collected from householders and many items that could have been recycled were thrown needlessly into the bin.

“With a little thought, we can all minimise the amount of waste we produce. We collect so many materials that it’s hard to find something you can’t recycle – whether it’s dead batteries from the children’s toys or leftover sprouts - we’ll take the lot, just make sure it’s in the right container and we’ll do the rest!”

Collection days over the festive period are as follows:

Normal collection ---> Revised collection
Friday 25 December ---> Tuesday 29 December
Monday 28 December ---> Wednesday 30 December
Tuesday 29 December ---> Thursday 31 December
Wednesday 30 December ---> Saturday 2 January
Thursday 31 December ---> Monday 4 January
Friday 1 January ---> Tuesday 5 January
Monday 4 January ---> Wednesday 6 January
Tuesday 5 January ---> Thursday 7 January
Wednesday 6 January ---> Friday 8 January
Thursday 7 January ---> Saturday 9 January
Friday 8 January ---> Monday 11 January
Monday 11 January ---> Tuesday 12 January
Tuesday 12 January ---> Wednesday 13 January
Wednesday 13 January ---> Thursday 14 January
Thursday 14 January ---> Friday 15 January
Friday 15 January ---> Saturday 16 January

Garden waste collections will not run between 25 December and 17 January. Normal collections resume Monday 18 January 2016.

If West Oxfordshire residents find that their black boxes are overflowing with recycling then they can put excess items for recycling out in open cardboard boxes or clear sacks (only one type of item per bag). For safety, glass must be put inside recycling boxes.

If anyone has any additional food waste they can also leave out their kitchen caddy alongside their normal food waste bin.

More trucks will be out on the roads to pick up the extra recycling over the Christmas and New Year period and during the busy festive season some ‘co-mingled’ trucks may be in use. This means all items will be collected together and sorted afterwards. Residents are assured that everything will still be recycled.

Excess waste can also be taken to local household waste and recycling centres.

To find out more, including full details of what can be recycled in West Oxfordshire, see www.westoxon.gov.uk/bins or call 01993 861000.

Posted : 09/12/2015 10:17:24

Other recent Witney news items


Council on target for affordable housing

Affordable housing targets are being met in West Oxfordshire, new figures reveal. In the first quarter of 2017, a total of 24 new homes have been built by Sovereign Housing Association in the Dist...[more]


Major council scheme aims to prevent homelessness

A major new scheme designed to tackle homelessness in West Oxfordshire has been given the green light. The Families First project will work with families and couples in a bid to prevent homelessne...[more]


Check whether your waste and recycling collection day has changed

With the introduction of a new, improved recycling collection service from 2 October, some households across West Oxfordshire will see a change to their collection day. A recycling guide and a ca...[more]


To view the full Witney Blog, click here