Witney News - Chairman and Cabinet appointed at District Council

Witney - A view from Church Green


Chairman and Cabinet appointed at District Council

Cllr Barry Norton will continue as Leader of West Oxfordshire District Council after being re-elected at the Council’s Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 16 May 2012.

Cllr Barry Norton, who has served as Leader of the Council since the introduction of the Cabinet system eleven years ago, thanked councillors for their on-going support and confidence in him and said: “As always I will continue to serve the Council, this District and its residents to the best of my ability. I am certain that members of the Council will continue to play an important role in the life of the District and help keep it the very nice place it is to live, work and play.”

Cllr Norton announced that Cabinet membership would be reduced to six members, with some changes to roles and responsibilities. He explained this was due to Cllr Verena Hunt’s decision to stand down on health grounds.

Thanking her for the work she has done as Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member, he said, “Cllr Hunt has been an excellent member of Cabinet for many years. I am sure we will miss her very much on Cabinet, but she will continue to be an important member of the Council and support residents in her ward.”

Cllr Mark Booty was appointed as the new Deputy Leader taking on additional responsibilities relating to community safety. Cllr Warwick Robinson has also taken on additional responsibilities relating to housing and homelessness.

Below is a breakdown of Cabinet portfolio arrangements:

Innovation, Health and Community Safety – Cllr Mark Booty
In addition to his appointment as Deputy Leader, Cllr Booty’s portfolio includes the Council’s work on improving efficiency while continuing to provide high quality services. This includes aspects such as two-tier working, partnership arrangements, councillor development and performance management. His portfolio also covers health, community safety and Scrutiny of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

Environment – Cllr David Harvey
Cllr Harvey will continue to cover all areas of waste and recycling collections, climate change, street cleansing and grounds maintenance, environmental enforcement and environmental health, as well as licensing, car parking and transport issues.

Resources – Cllr Simon Hoare
Cllr Hoare remains in post covering finance and management, customer services, IT services, asset management, project management, human resources and equality and diversity, and ‘Procurement Champion’.

Local Economy and Communities – Cllr Richard Langridge
Cllr Langridge continues with responsibility for economic development, rural development, business liaison, inward investment, parish and town council liaison and supporting the voluntary sector. As part of this portfolio, Cllr Langridge is responsible for tourism and Visitor Information Centres, sports and leisure facilities and strategy, arts and sports grants, lifelong learning and is the Council’s ‘Young Persons’ Champion’ and ‘Broadband Champion’.

Strategic Planning and Housing – Cllr Warwick Robinson
Cllr Robinson takes on responsibility for housing, in addition to planning and development issues. His portfolio includes, Regional Spatial Strategy, the Local Development Framework, Government planning policies and guidance, conservation and design, landscape/biodiversity, building control, housing/homelessness, sheltered housing accommodation, affordable housing and supporting people. He is the ‘Design and Historic Environment Champion for the District.

Cllr Derek Cotterill, who represents Burford, will continue for a third year as Chairman and Cllr Louise Chapman, representative for Witney West, also continues as Deputy Chairman.

Following his re-election, Cllr Cotterill said: “I would like to thank councillors for their support and to ensure them I will continue to attend the various events required of the Chairman in order to promote and extol the merits of West Oxfordshire.”

As well as the appointment of the Cabinet, Chairman and Vice-Chairman, the Council appointed members of its various committees, sub-committees and overview and scrutiny committees.

For more details about Councillors and committee membership, see www.westoxon.gov.uk/councillors

Posted : 17/05/2012 12:50:35

Other recent Witney news items

Bigger wheelie bins for keen recyclers

West Oxfordshire residents wanting to recycle more can now swap to a larger recycling wheelie bin for free. The current blue-lidded bin for recycling materials is a standard 240 litre size, but th...[more]

Residents urged to rally behind Small Business Saturday

A major campaign designed to give independent retailers a special boost is being backed by West Oxfordshire District Council. Small Business Saturday encourages people to back their local shops on...[more]

Pumpkin power

Once Halloween is over, West Oxfordshire residents can recycle their unwanted pumpkins as part of their weekly food waste collection service. Pumpkins can either be left alongside waste and recycl...[more]

To view the full Witney Blog, click here